Chitchat

Slice of Life Tuesday

There is nothing better than getting together with a group of ladies. You can be meeting for lunch or just sitting around the kitchen table. There is always laughter, hugs, and a feeling that warms the soul. Whether it’s eight or eighteen, you never know where the conversation will take you.

Yes, you never know where the conversation will take you. So don’t be surprised when I tell you a recent topic of conversation was plastic surgery for “turkey necks”. Just in case you’ve never seen a commercial or experienced this phenomenon, I am referring to the loose, flabby, drooping skin that replaced your long slender neck.  I am not sure if genetics gets the blame. However, my aunts, who attended the last family reunion, were displaying this predominate feature.  Since that day, I must confess that I have spent time checking the mirror for extended periods of time searching for the notorious turkey neck.

Now we are women of action. We’re not going to sit around and bemoan this possible fate. After ruling out the possibility of surgery due to finances and fear, we needed to seek alternative solutions. Sidebar-I haven’t even pierced my ears, so there is no way I’m going under the knife. So we brainstormed several solutions including duck tap, scarves, and turtle neck sweaters. The elaboration and detail used to explain how each would be implemented caused thunderous roars of laughter.

A few days later, my darling 5 month old granddaughter came to my house for a visit. We did all of the usual things a loving grandmother does, especially give hugs and kisses. So you can imagine my surprise when my sweet girl put one hand securely on my shoulder and her other hand under my chin. Oh my goodness! It’s another solution for hiding the dreaded turkey neck. Wait until I tell the girls!

Author:

I graduated with an MS degree in Elementary Education from SIUE. I have endorsements for Language Arts, Science, Social Studies, and Middle School. I am certified to teach K-9 and Gifted Education. Over the years I have taught Kindergarten - Fifth Grade. Now I am currently a Literacy Coach, who works with a wonderful group of teachers.

One thought on “Chitchat

Leave a Reply

