Square Dancing

Slice of Life Tuesday

So I see the announcement on the digital board that Square Dancing was being offered on Saturday from 5-8. Now my life had been like riding a roller coaster during an earthquake since the beginning of the year. All I wanted was a distraction, a chance to cast my cares to the wind. So I signed my husband and myself up for this event.

Let me just point out that we are not dancers, especially not square dancers. I once took square dancing as an elective in college because it was the only choice that would fit into my crammed schedule. That was a very long time ago and the experience has been blocked from my memory. If seeing the musicals Seven Brides for Seven Brothers and Oklahoma counts, then we are ready. Besides I just wanted a chance to connect with some friends and have some laughs.

We put on our jeans and plaid shirts. No boots for us. Just a pair of loafers since we didn’t want sore feet in the morning. Forget the cowboy hats that we purchased on vacation. As you can tell, we are not even a little bit country. As we went out of the door to get into the car, it occurred to us that we could be sleeping on the sofa pretending to watch television.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a beautiful western setting including saddles, checkered tablecloths and a cheery group of cowboys and cowgirls. What better way to begin the evening than with a barbecue dinner. It was delicious and definitely added to the mood.

Next was the moment of truth. This was the learn as you dance method of teaching. It was important to listen and follow directions precisely. As the music played everyone moved with caution. One dance was completed and the caller said it’s time for a rest. A chance to catch your breath, compare notes, and check your fit bit to see how many steps your took. Then the whole process repeated for three more dances. Each dance we learned more new steps and combine them with the ones already learned.

What was my take away? You can have fun making a fool of yourself. I found out I do not always know my right from my left.Sometimes you just need to step away from your daily circumstances and do something very different, even if it is just for one evening.

 

Author:

I graduated with an MS degree in Elementary Education from SIUE. I have endorsements for Language Arts, Science, Social Studies, and Middle School. I am certified to teach K-9 and Gifted Education. Over the years I have taught Kindergarten - Fifth Grade. Now I am currently a Literacy Coach, who works with a wonderful group of teachers.

One thought on “Square Dancing

  1. Your post made me smile! I needed this reminder that sometimes we just need a break. Our church cloggers keep asking me to join them. Maybe I just need to take my two left feet and give it a try!
    God bless,
    Sherry

    Like

Leave a Reply

